English-speaking countries

There are four English-speaking countries: Great Britain, the USA, Canada and Australia.

Official name of Great Britain is the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. It is a parliamentary monarchy. Its area is 244 000 sq km., its population is 57 mln. The capital is London with almost 8mln residents. English is the official and predominant language. Great Britain consists of four parts: England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland. It is a highly developed country with mechanized agriculture.

The USA is a federal republic, a union of 50 states. Its area is 9 363 169 sq km. The population of the USA is more than 230 mln. Its capital is Washington with more than 3 mln residents. Official language is English – the so called "American English". The USA is situated in the North America. It is highly developed industrial and agricultural country.

Canada is independent federative state. It consists of 10 provinces and 2 territories. Its area is 9 976 000 sq km. The population of Canada is 24,1 mln. Its capital is Ottawa with 700 000 people. Canada is economically developed country. It has many large towns and cities. English and French are both official languages. 12 per cent of the population in Canada is bilingual: 60 per cent speaks English, 27 per cent French, and the rest speaks other languages, such as Eskimo, Indian, German, Ukrainian and Italian.

The official name of Australia is the Commonwealth of Australia. It is an independent federative state. Its territory is 7.7mln sq km, population is about 15 mln. The capital of Australia is Canberra with 202 000 people. The official language is English.

English-speaking countries

There are four English-speaking countries: Great Britain, the USA, Canada and Australia.

Official name of Great Britain is the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. It is a parliamentary monarchy. Its area is 244 000 sq km., its population is 57 mln. The capital is London with almost 8mln residents. English is the official and predominant language. Great Britain consists of four parts: England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland. It is a highly developed country with mechanized agriculture.

The USA is a federal republic, a union of 50 states. Its area is 9 363 169 sq km. The population of the USA is more than 230 mln. Its capital is Washington with more than 3 mln residents. Official language is English – the so called "American English". The USA is situated in the North America. It is highly developed industrial and agricultural country.

Canada is independent federative state. It consists of 10 provinces and 2 territories. Its area is 9 976 000 sq km. The population of Canada is 24,1 mln. Its capital is Ottawa with 700 000 people. Canada is economically developed country. It has many large towns and cities. English and French are both official languages. 12 per cent of the population in Canada is bilingual: 60 per cent speaks English, 27 per cent French, and the rest speaks other languages, such as Eskimo, Indian, German, Ukrainian and Italian.

The official name of Australia is the Commonwealth of Australia. It is an independent federative state. Its territory is 7.7mln sq km, population is about 15 mln. The capital of Australia is Canberra with 202 000 people. The official language is English.

- 1. What are the main English-speaking countries?
- 2. What are their territories and population?
- 3. Can you name their capitals?
- 4. Do you know their political systems?
- 5. Tell some words about their political systems.
- 6. What is the official language in those countries?

- 2. What are their territories and population?
- 3. Can you name their capitals?
- 4. Do you know their political systems?
- 5. Tell some words about their political
- 6. What is the official language in those countries?
- 1. What are the main English-speaking countries?